Ross Township Special Board Meeting Minutes ROSS TOWNSHIP KALAMAZOO COUNTY, MICHIGAN Thursday, December 12, 2024

Attendee Name	Title	Roll Call Status
Christina Hutchings	Supervisor	Present
Mary Stage	Clerk	Present
Amanda Wiersma	Treasurer	Present
Diana Langshaw	Trustee	Present
Michael Bekes	Trustee	Present
Lynn Harmon	Trustee	Present
Todd White	Trustee	Absent arrived later, Present
Rob Thall	Attorney	Absent

Call to Order:

Supervisor Hutchings called the meeting to order at 10:32 am with all rising for the Pledge Allegiance to the Flag.

Prior to the approval to the agenda, Trustee Bekes asked that under new business the third item remove the words '& ZBA'.

Approval of Agenda

Motion	
Trustee Bekes moved to accept the agenda with changes, supported by Trust the motion passed unanimously.	tee Langshaw

Mover	Trustee Bekes
Second	Trustee Langshaw
Result	Resolution Adopted: 6 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 1 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Absent at time of
		Trustee viille	vote

Citizen Comment:

Supervisor Hutchings open Citizen Comment at 10:34 am, with no one present, Citizen Comment was closed at 10:34 am.

New Business:

Fire Department Grant Application – Treasurer Wiersma explained the Memorandum of Understanding that Ross Township Fire Department joined with Barry and Hope Township Fire Department are pursuing a Grant to purchase equipment for their departments. Ross is seeking money for ventilation equipment, the other two are asking for monies for other types of equipment.

Motion

Trustee Langshaw moved to have Supervisor Hutchings sign the Memorandum of Understanding, supported by Trustee Harmon after a roll call vote the motion passed.

Mover Trustee Langshaw
Second Trustee Harmon
Result Resolution Adopted: 6 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 1 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Absent at time of
		Trustee writte	vote

Appoint GLWSA commissioner form the Ross Township Board -

Motion

Trustee Bekes moved to have Supervisor Hutchings be the commissioner on the GLWSA Board, supported by Treasurer Wiersma, the motion passed.

Mover Trustee Harmon
Second Trustee Bekes
Result Resolution Adopted: 5 Ayes; 0 Nays; 1 Abstained; 1 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Abstained	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasure Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Absent at time of vote

Appoint Planning Commission (PC) Liaison from Ross Township Board:

Motion

Supervisor Hutchings motioned to appoint Trustee Bekes to PC Liaison, supported by Trustee Langshaw the motion passed.

MoverSupervisor HutchingsSecondTrustee Langshaw

Result Resolution Adopted: 6 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 1 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Absent at time of vote

After the above vote Trustee Bekes brought up for discussion increasing the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) from 3 to 5 members. This would solve issues with the Open Meeting Act, a quorum would be 3 individuals and it would take a vote of 3 to pass items brought before the ZBA.

After discussion the following motion was made.

Motion

Trustee Langshaw motioned to amend agenda to make the total number of the ZBA 5 members, supported by Trustee Bekes, the motion passed unanimously.

MoverTrustee LangshawSecondTrustee Bekes

Result Resolution Adopted: 7 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 0 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Aye

Motion

Trustee Langshaw motioned to increase the ZBA from 3 to 5 members, supported by Treasurer Wiersma, the motion passed unanimously.

MoverTrustee LangshawSecondTreasurer Wiersma

Result Resolution Adopted: 7 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 0 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Aye

Motion

Supervisor Hutchings motioned to appoint Bonnie Sawusch and Cheryl Duffy-Geiger to the ZBA Board, supported by Trustee Bekes, the motion passed unanimously.

Mover Supervisor Hutchings

Second Trustee Bekes

Result Resolution Adopted: 7 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 0 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Aye

Second Citizen Comment:

Supervisor Hutchings open second citizen comment at 11:04 am. With no one present citizen comment was closed at 11:04 am.

Clerk Stage informed the Board that we still do not have a final cost for early voting from the County. The County is still waiting to see how much grant money they will receive to cover early voting cost. Clerk Stage wants the Board to be aware that money will have to be put into the Election Budget for 2024 – 2025, if County does not issue invoice for early voting before April 2025.

Trustee Langshaw informed the Board that the Fire Department budget is complete for the fiscal year 2024 – 2025, and is being reviewed by the Augusta Village Board.

Trustee Harmon reminded the Board that at our January meeting we will need to set up Budget Workshops for February 2025.

Motion

Trustee Harmon motioned to adjourn, supported by Clerk Stage, the motion passed unanimously.

MoverTrustee HarmonSecondClerk Stage

Result Resolution Adopted: 7 Ayes; 0 Nays; 0 Abstained; 0 Absent

Name	Vote	Name	Vote
Supervisor Hutchings	Aye	Trustee Bekes	Aye
Clerk Stage	Aye	Trustee Harmon	Aye
Treasurer Wiersma	Aye	Trustee Langshaw	Aye
		Trustee White	Aye

Supervisor Hutchings adjourned the meeting at 11:17 am.